Syncro SVN Client

Automatically lock files when committed

Having trouble installing Syncro SVN Client? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.

Automatically lock files when committed

Postby john1lai » Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:30 pm

Is there a way to automatically lock files when they are committed so that other users would have to unlock them in order to make any edits?

Thanks,
John
______________
John Lai
(e) john@pinger.com
(m) 408.771.8227
(f) 313.772.8227
john1lai
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:28 pm
Location: San Jose

Postby sorin » Wed Oct 17, 2007 9:29 am

Hello,

Usually a SVN user locks a file when he wants to be the only one who modifies it on the repository and unlocks it after he commits his modifications in order to allow other users to modify it. So normally a commit operation should either unlock the file to allow other users to modify it or keep the lock to allow only the current user to modify it. This is what the Commit dialog of Syncro SVN Client offers with the Keep locks checkbox. I think it is not very frequent to lock a file when a new revision is committed but probably you can implement that with a hook script installed on the SVN server on the post-commit hook.
sorin
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 3:45 pm


Return to Common Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron

© 2002-2013 SyncRO Soft Ltd. All rights reserved. | Sitemap | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | This website was created & generated with <oXygen/>® XML Editor