Syncro SVN Client

Why is my merge not being "remembered?"

Having trouble installing Syncro SVN Client? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.

Why is my merge not being "remembered?"

Postby taytay » Sat Sep 12, 2009 7:01 pm

(This is Syncro SVN 1.5)
First off, I am not an SVN expert. I'm starting to think I know just enough to be dangerous. I recently did a merge from my trunk into my branch by selecting my working copy, then going to Tools->Merge, then selecting "reintegrate a branch". (Even though that seems the exact opposite of what I want to do, I hear that is the "proper" way?)

I followed the steps, edited conflicts, committed it, and now to make sure that it worked, so I did the exact same thing again and told it to "test merge". Sure enough, all of the same changes and conflicts are coming back over from the trunk to the branch? I thought that it would have told me something along the lines of, "no changes to merge"...Is that not right? Am I doing something wrong? Is there an easy way to view the merge metadata to make sure that it is being stored correctly?

Many thanks for any help you can offer.
taytay

Re: Why is my merge not being "remembered?"

Postby Florin » Tue Sep 15, 2009 10:33 am

Hello,

Thank you for contacting us.
You told us that you recently did a merge from your trunk to your branch. This is the case when you wish to merge changes from the trunk to your branch. But the action you selected "Reintegrate a branch" is the opposite of what you want to do, it does merge the changes from your current branch back into the trunk (in the presented form, having the URL of the current working copy) if the working copy is from the trunk (most common case).
You can read more about the merge operation and its options on the Syncro SVN Client User Manual, by pressing F1 when the Merge dialog is displayed or on the following link:

http://www.syncrosvnclient.com/doc/ug-s ... nches.html