Page 1 of 1

SVN commit causes Merge error dialog?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2012 11:23 pm
by kevinfolz
Hello there,

I have a weird bug I was hoping you could shed some light on...

-I have a fully updated working copy from a fresh checkout on Windows XP sp3
-I make a small change to a code file, syncro picks up the change and marks as modified
-I right click on the file and commit the modification
-I get this error box:
-Working copy shows file still modified (even though commit was successful)
-I right click and refresh the file, does nothing
-I right click and update the file, it then removes the modification flag

svn server is running svn 1.5.1, working copy is in 1.5 format, using latest version of Syncro 8, did this on version 7.1 as well...


Re: SVN commit causes Merge error dialog?

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:10 am
by Florin

The message indicates a timeout waiting for a server response. This happens if the server is too busy after the commit is done. The commit is registered in the repository, but after there may be some post-commit hooks which take too long and the client does not receive a proper response in a useful time.

Try to increase the timeout value in Syncro SVN Client and see if it helps:
Options -> Preferences -> Connection settings page -> Advanced connection settings section -> Read timeout option. Set it to 60 seconds for example.

Best Regards,
Florin Avram
Syncro SVN Client Team

Re: SVN commit causes Merge error dialog?

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 4:02 pm
by kevinfolz
We do have post commit hooks on our server, so that could explain some things! Thanks.