Press the Next button.
The Merge Options step of the wizard is opened:
The Merge Wizard - Advanced Options
Set advanced options if necessary before starting the merge process.
Set the depth of the merge operation in the Merge depth
You can specify how far down into your working copy the merge should go by
selecting one of the following values:
- Current depth
- Recursive (infinity)
- Immediate children (immediates)
- File children only (files)
- This folder only (empty)
The depth term is described in the Sparse checkouts section. The default
depth is the depth of the current working copy.
Check the Ignore ancestry checkbox (optional).
The Ignore ancestry checkbox allows a merge to be applied
between a branch and the trunk or between two branches even if they do not share a
common ancestry. Normally the branch and the trunk or the two branches that are merged
must have a common ancestor revision in the same repository. In case the two merged
trees were imported in the repository they are not related in the sense of a common
ancestor tree and the merge operation is possible by ignoring the missing common
ancestry of the two merged trees.
Check the Ignore line endings checkbox (optional).
Check the Ignore Whitespaces checkbox (optional).
The Ignore line endings and Ignore
whitespaces checkboxes allow you to specify how the line endings and
whitespace changes should be handled. If they are checked the changes due only to the
line endings and whitespaces are ignored. The default behavior is to treat all
whitespace and line-end differences as real changes to be merged. Ignore
whitespace changes excludes changes which are caused by a change in the
amount or type of whitespace, for example changing the indentation or changing tabs to
spaces. Adding whitespace where there was none before, or removing a whitespace
completely is still shown as a change. If Ignore all
whitespaces is checked all whitespace-only changes are excluded.
Check the Only record the merge checkbox (optional).
If you are using merge tracking support and you want to mark a revision as having
been merged, without actually doing the merge here, check the Only record
the merge checkbox. You might want to do this for two possible reasons.
You make the changes by hand, then mark the change as merged so that the merge
tracking algorithm is aware of it. Or you might want to prevent a particular revision
from being merged by marking it as already merged. This will prevent future
Press the Test merge button (optional).
By pressing the Test merge button you do a dry run of the
merge operation in order to see what files are affected and how without modifying the
working copy at all. This is very helpful in detecting where conflicts may
Press the Merge button.
The merge operation is executed.
When the merge is completed it's a good idea to look at the result of
the merge in the specified working copy and see if it meets your expectations. Because merging
is sometimes complicated, when there are major changes, conflicts may