|Getting Started / Manage Working Copy Resources|
The delete command can be found in the Edit submenu of the context menu from the Working Copy view. When you delete a resource from the Subversion working copy, it is removed from the file system and it is also marked as deleted. If unversioned, added or modified resources are encountered, a dialog prompts you to confirm their deletion.
The delete command does not delete from the file system the directories under version control, it only marks them as deleted. This is because the directories also contain the pristine copy of that directory content. In the Working Copy view this action is transparent as all resources have the deleted mark (the minus (-) sign). The directories are removed from the file system when you commit them to the repository. You can also change your mind completely and revert the deleted files to their initial, pristine state.
If you delete a resource from the file system without Subversion's knowledge, you render the working copy in an inconsistent state.
If a resource is deleted from the file system without Subversion's knowledge, your working copy is in an inconsistent state. The resource will be considered and marked as missing (the sign '!'). If a file was deleted, it will be treated in the same way as if it was deleted by Subversion. However if a directory is missing you will be unable to commit. If you update your working copy, Subversion will replace the missing directory with the latest version from the repository and you can then delete it the correct way using the Delete command.